Today was very interesting. I really saw the reason we are here. We helped host a  “block party” in Manderson, SD. The block party consisted of us and the other group we are with. Part of our group were focused on the children, while we were focused on the adults. The children portion were able to give away a ton of clothes, car seats, first aid kits, dental supplies, and baby supplies. My group did blood sugar, total cholesterol, BMI, and blood pressures. We were able to provide all of this free of charge! At the block party what we saw was unbelievable. We hear about populations like this in our classrooms, but to be able to experience it first hand is amazing. This trip has brought on a whole new meaning of health disparities. This population is very poor. Many of these children were here alone, or with an older sibling (the older sibling might be 10). So, our turnout on our side has not as high and the children. But, that is OK! If we can help just one person, we made a difference.

At the block party I had a little girl come up and ask me to drive her to Rapid City, SD to see her mom. I asked why she hasnt seen her, and she replied that she is in jail for drinking to much. The little girl continued on about  how much she missed her mom, and she wishes she could see her. It was very heartbreaking to tell her that I did not have a car. But, to think that this little girl was only 7 or 8, and she knows all this. Very sad!

After the block party, we went to the Oglala Lakota College of Nursing. It was neat to see how other nursing schools are set up. I learned that I need to stop complaining about my drive to class because they sometimes have to drive over 100 miles one way to clinical!  We also found out that the students pay only $98 a credit! I about fell out of my chair! But, when you think about their lives, I am willing to pay the extra $500 a credit. We just don’t know how lucky we really are, until we come here.

After visiting the college we went to WALMART!!!!! The nearest Walmart was about 80 miles away in Nebraska. We had a lot of fun on this trip. At Walmart, we picked up our $1000+ order. This order consisted of car seats, strollers, diapers, and etc. We will be giving all this away at our block parties. Then we got to eat at Pizza Hut! We finished the day with a meeting with the rest of the group.

I will try to post pictures in the morning, I still haven’t figured this whole thing out yet.

Love Always,

Lindsay Rose

About Lindsay H.

My name is Lindsay. I am currently a senior at Methodist College of Nursing. I will graduate on December 15th! Follow along as I take a class trip to Pine Ridge, South Dakota.

10 responses »

  1. Gina says:

    Sounds like an awesome day, Rose!

  2. Mary says:

    I look forward to reading your blog each day! When you get back you’ll have to come for lunch and tell us all the details of your adventure. So excited for you!!!

  3. Estela says:

    Lindsay, the video was awesome and very sad and I am very proud of you for taking part of this…I wish I could experience something like this someday. Have fun and know that you are making a big difference to those people there. Love you!!

  4. Sandra says:

    Once your there I believe a part of your heart always stays there…..Enjoy the trip it goes by sooo fast!!!

  5. akorfias says:

    Lindsay, this is Sophies mom! I think it’s so cool that you went on this trip, too! I hope you don’t mind if I follow your blog, too! It’s amazing what you guys are doing 🙂

  6. Becky DeRubeis says:

    Look forward to each day posting!!!

  7. Craig says:

    Wow sounds like you are actually enjoying yourself which is nice after being so apprehensive. Have fun & take plenty of pictures. Buffalo Gap National Grassland is really a great place to go. You would be able to see plenty of wildlife Bighorn Sheep, Wild Turkey, Antelope, Mule Deer, Whitetail, huge Elk & yes even Buffalo. Hope you can make time for that. Wall drug in Wall S.D. is a great place to go. I always thought growing up that they were a chain store. You had to have seen all the signs along the road. There is probably 150 in each direction. You need to research Wall drug to understand their history. The above mentioned would give you something to do in your “free” time. Be careful & enjoy your experience! 🙂

Leave a Reply

