Well, I have been back from the most amazing/rewarding trip for a few weeks now. I learned so much on my trip to Pine Ridge Indian Reservation. I learned that we are VERY fortunate in so many ways. We are able to jump in the car and go to the Doctor or the grocery store. It was very difficult to see mothers who were not able to provide for their children due to lack of resources. But, at the same time it was SO rewarding to be able to help them.

I will utilize this experience in my future nursing care. The one thing that stands out in my mind is compliance. Next time I have a patient that is non-compliant, I need to sit down with them and figure out why. It might not be because they just don’t care, or don’t want to take care of themselves. It might be because they don’t have the resources to do so, but really want to.

I served as an advocate for Social Justice by helping those who were in need due to their lack of resources. The Native’s do not have a choice on their health care provider, or where it is located. Many of residents do not have cars, and if they do they might not have money for gas. Since, some might have to drive hours to the hospital. So, I was able to help the Native get a small picture of their health. I provided them with their total cholesterol, blood sugar, blood pressure, and BMI. This way they know where they stand.

For future trips to the Rez, fundraising will be very beneficial. At the school, we could sell Indian Taco’s, or Krispy Kreme Doughnuts. I think that food goes over very well at the school. Also, holding a  bake sale in the hospital cafeteria. These are things that we could do several times over the next year. As a way to generate donations, we could have a car seat drive, or children clothes donation day/week. Possible enter the participants for the drive in a drawing to win something.

This was hands down the best thing I have ever done! I hope to help the school fund-raise so more students could experience this…. or so I can go back 🙂

I just want to say thanks to my teachers who took me on this trip!

Love always-

Lindsay Rose

Leave a Reply

